## PROGRAMME

# 28<sup>th</sup> European Energy Law Seminar

Hampshire Babylon Hotel

The Hague, The Netherlands

## 23 and 24 January 2017



Dutch Energy Law Association



ity of faculty of law

in Cooperation with

groningen centre

of energy law

UiO **Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law** University of Oslo



## **Sunday 22 January**

19:15 Welcome Drinks20:00 Meet & Greet Dinner Buffet

## Monday 23 January

**09:15** Welcome and Introduction *Martha Roggenkamp* 

## **Developments in EU Energy Law**

- **09:20** Overview EU Case Law and the Energy Sector Berend Jan Drijber
- 10:00 State Aid Rules with a Focus on Renewable Energy Ronald van de Ven
- 10:40 Brexit and its Impact on EU Energy Policy and Law Silke Goldberg
- 11:10 Coffee

## **Electricity Market Design**

- 11:30 Repowering Electricity Markets: A Global Perspective Manuel Baritaud
- 12:00 Electricity Market Design Package: Market Parties' Perspective Ruud Otter
- 12:40 Q&A
- 12:45 Lunch

#### **Cross-Border Infrastructure - Projects of Common Interest**

- 13:30 Project of Common Interest: PCI List and Permitting *Catherina Sikow*
- 14:00 Projects of Common Interest: CBCA Regulation and Disputes Ákos Hofstädter

#### 14:50 Tea

## **Energy Network Developments**

- **15:10** Developing a New Type of Electricity Interconnectors: Combined Grid Solutions *Gert Elze*
- **15:50** The Future Roles of DSOs and TSOs *Luuk Spee*
- 16:20 Q&A
- 16:30 End Official Programme Day I
- 17:00 Visit Museum Mauritshuis
- 18:00 Drinks and Dinner at Sociëteit De Witte Invited Speaker: Ambassador of Norway, His Excellence Martin Sørby, on Dutch-Norwegian Energy Relations



## **Tuesday 24 January**

#### **Developing Renewable Energy Projects**

- 09:15 Renewable Energy Investments Disputes Nikos Lavranos
- **09:50** Danish-German Cooperation Agreement governing the Partial Opening of National Support Schemes for Solar PV Projects Dijana Dmitruk and Camilla Brovang
- 10:30 Recast of the Renewable Energy Directive Ruud Kempener
- 11:10 Q&A
- 11:20 Coffee

#### **Reliability of Energy Supply**

- 11:40 Regulating the Production and Use of Hydrogen Ruprecht Brandis
- 12:10 Sector Inquiry on Capacity Mechanisms Ruben Vermeeren
- 12:45 Q&A
- 13:00 Lunch

#### Parallel Session on Capacity Mechanism or Prosumers

13:45	Capacity Mechanism in UK Julian Roberts	Prosumers Legislation in Norway Erlend Sandnes
14:15	Capacity Mechanism in France Thomas Veyrenc	Prosumers Legislation in Germany Matthias Lang
14:45	Capacity Mechanism in Germany Kai Pritzsche	Prosumers Legislation in The Netherlands Lea Diestelmeier and Dirk Kuiken
15:15	Q&A	Q&A

15:30 Tea

#### What happens in the European Gas Market?

- **15:50** Security of Gas Supply Package: How to Maintain Security? Bart Jan Hoevers
- 16:30 The Role of Gas in Developing a Sustainable Energy Sector Torstein Indrebø
- 17:00 Q&A
- 17:15 End of Seminar



## Venue

Hampshire Hotel Babylon The Hague T +31 (0) 70 381 49 01

E info.babylon@hampshire-hotels.com

Bezuidenhoutseweg 53 2594 AC The Hague The Netherlands

## Inquiries

#### Organising Office European Energy Law Seminar T +31 (0) 6 24 62 40 20

E seminar@never.nl

Postal address Dutch Energy Law Association P.O. Box 9197 3301 AD Dordrecht The Netherlands

## **Speakers**

Manuel Baritaud International Energy Agency (F)

**Dr. Ruprecht Brandis** BP Europe (DE)

Camilla Brovang Danish Energy Agency (DK)

Lea Diestelmeier Groningen Centre of Energy Law, University of Groningen (NL)

**Dijana Dmitruk** Danish Energy Agency (DK)

Berend Jan Drijber Pels Rijken & Drooglever Fortuijn (NL)

Gert Elze Energinet.dk (DK)

**Silke Goldberg** Herbert Smith Freehills (GB)

Bart Jan Hoevers Gasunie Transport Services (NL) **Ákos Hofstädter** Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (SI)

**Torstein Indrebø** United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (N)

Ruud Kempener DG Energy, European Commission (B)

**Dirk Kuiken** Groningen Centre of Energy Law, University of Groningen (NL)

Dr. Matthias Lang Bird & Bird (DE)

**Dr. Nikos Lavranos** Global Investment Protection (CH)

Ruud Otter Energie Nederland, Chair Eurelectric Market Parties Platform (NL)

**Dr. Kai Pritzsche** Linklaters, Berlin (DE) **Julian Roberts** Office of Gas and Electricity Markets (GB)

**Erlend Sandnes** Norwegian Water Resources and Energy Directorate (N)

**Catherina Sikow** DG Energy, European Commission (B)

Luuk Spee Netherlands Authority for Consumers and Markets (NL)

**Ronald van de Ven** DG Competition, European Commission (B)

**Ruben Vermeeren** DG Competition, European Commission (B)

Thomas Veyrenc Réseau de Transport d'Électricité (F)



Registration Forms can be downloaded from the website www.never.nl